Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past three decades, there has been a tremendous amount of individuals possessing an automobile. This phenomenon has caused numerous cities in the world to turn into “one big traffic jam”. From my perspective, I totally agree with the statement, as there are several solutions that the government may take into consideration to discourage their citizens from driving cars. In my opinion, nowadays, technology has advanced to a stage where it allows the process of car manufacture to be significantly simplified. In other words, all compartments of these vehicles are available, as well as the assembling procedure takes much less time, compared with how it was done in the past. As was the case in VietNam,nowadays it is unnecessary for factories to import materials from various nations in the world, therefore, they are capable of making cars at a more affordable price. As a consequence, purchasing an automobile is becoming generally accessible. Thus, with an acceleration in the percentage of people having these transports,it is attributed highly to a scenario that a plethora of cars is participating in the streets. It might constitute a threat of congestion in various cities, especially during rush hour. Nevertheless, there are some steps that authorities may apply to their residents, in an attempt to lessen the caretaking part on the roads.If they allocate a greater expenditure to introduce an improvement in the public transport's quality, together with frequently informing people with the substantial perks of using those vehicles,it will likely represent a major breakthrough. For example,commuters may be facilitated to get on transports such as a bus or a metro, in lieu of spending time sitting in an automobile. To draw a conclusion, I believe the above statement is totally true owing to the fact that all humankind has easy access to own a car at an economical price; however, the government can use some methods to lessen the frequency of people using those vehicles.