In many countries, the government prioritizes economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this

In many states around the world, states administrations are considering their revenue growth of utmost importance over all other issues. The pros of this strategy are better public services of that country and an increased export business, while this strategy also has demerit of pollution and poverty within the nations. More public funds in a country means more money to enhance the public sector. Entities like healthcare, insurance and education of any nation can be managed effectively if an adequate level of financial resources are available for enhancement. Another benefit is to develop manufacturing sector to produce goods and services locally which reduces import and expand the export for a nation. For instance, China has started the manufacturing of almost all electronics which has expanded their export business and boost their economy. On the other hand, there are severe consequences on the environment due to an increase in manufacturing units. Building more factories means more pollution within the country which is harmful for people and the nature. This initiative has another drawback of insufficient jobs if the welfare services are not well managed. As a result, this may lead to poverty and death due to hunger hit the country. For example, allowing an industry in populated areas and then calling it off as it is generating a lot of smoke is really difficult. In conclusion, although prioritizing the financial growth may help a nation to stand out at a global level by not depending on others for basic necessities, however there are also drawbacks of greenhouse gases and unemployment.