Some people think the government should establish free libraries in each town. Others believe that it is a waste of money since people can access the Internet to obtain information. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some people that the government ought to construct libraries that do not require any money from the public in every city. Others, however, claim that it would be pouring money down the drain to do that due to the Internet being an enormous source of knowledge. Despite the Internet access is ubiquitous nowadays, this essay agrees with the former idea since every one does not have an Internet connection. To begin with, the proponents of the idea that libraries are unnecessary think that the Internet is in almost everyone’s pocket in the modern day. That is to say, most people would prefer to research on the Internet in order to learn something new rather than going to a place physically and searching for the information they need. This is why asking to one’s mobile phone or computer is far more time and money-saving. As a natural consequence, the demand for libraries may be reduced and building new ones would be a waste of sources. For example, a library in Turkey transformed into a car park, because the managers realised that there has been only 100 people that went to the library since 2019. On the other hand, people who support the construction of free libraries assert that the Internet may not be accessible in each town. Especially in impoverished areas, while people are not able to afford to their most basic needs, it would be illogical to ask them for providing their homes or mobile phones with the Internet. Instead of that approach, establishing new accessible libraries may encourage them to read or study, which eventually may recover their situation. For instance, a survey that carried out in the most underprivileged parts of France revealed that 50% of people under 40 years old have never been to a library before. In conclusion, some assert that the Internet is enough for being knowledgeable about a topic and founding new structures for people to go and read or study is just being extravagant. Nevertheless, this essay states that it may be invaluable for some groups of people to go a library and reach books without any payment because of their financial instability. Due to this fact, free libraries should be built in every province.