Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large numbers of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem.

The automobile industry has undergone major improvement in the last century. However, the proportion of road transport accident remains at an all-time high. This essay will discuss what the prime reasons for the escalating number of vehicle accidents and further discuss what measures can be taken to compact the issue. There are several factors that culminate in this situation. The prime reason would be the young age of the car owner, who is more likely to be a rash driver and they most likely would not mind being behind the wheel even under the influence of alcohol or drugs. For instance, there are few states in the United States that grant license to teenagers as young as 16 years of age. Furthermore, the usage of mobile-phones and other electronic devices have escalated after the invention of smart phones. Many individuals, including adults do not hesitate to use them while driving be it to text, vlog or call. This means that a large portion of people on that road at any given time are distracted which can increase the likeliness of getting into a crash. The government can implement some changes that may be capable of reducing or even eliminating the accidents altogether. Firstly, the minimum age to be granted full license must be increased to 20 or compulsory rule that a young adult must be accompanied by a legal guardian, who might help the situation. The cities could also use technology to their advantage; to give an example, they can install high technology radars on the roads that catch people who are use phones while they drive and can fine these law breakers. To conclude, all the development in the field amounts for nothing till people turn into responsible citizens and drive responsibly, caring for the life of every human on the road.