“In the circumstances of the present-day world, children should be given every encouragement to regard the learning of several languages as normal; to suggest the contrary seems both prejudiced and harmful.”

In the contemporary world, it is advocated that children should be fostered to regard several languages ’ acquirement as ordinary, while the counter-argument may seem as prejudiced and detrimental to children ’s multidimensional self-development. From my perspective, I support the former, claiming that under no circumstances should children be hindered from concerning different languages ’ study as common. First and foremost, it is various languages ’ acquirement that supports kids to mature either intellectually or culturally. Through the experience of studying languages, not only do children embrace the opportunities to broaden their profundity of knowledge, but they also gain a deeper insight into diverse cultural spheres. Therefore, it would be irrational if one’s access to different languages ’ education is considered abnormal or peculiar, as this may well dishearten children and give them the feeling of embarrassment. What is more, we now live in a culturally diverse society in which many different languages are spoken, which means acquiring several languages potentially give children an edge over the others that do not. For instance, Japanese is incorporated into several schools’ curriculum as a second language. Later, when it comes to their career life, should children happen to collaborate with a Japanese colleague, their foundation in Japanese could help them overcome the language barrier to communicate effectively. Nevertheless, studying several languages concurrently would somewhat have its drawbacks, as this would leave little time left for children to master their mother tongue, which is regarded as of utmost importance. In some cases, there are kids nurtured mostly in a foreign language environment; as a result, their mother tongue skills are inferior to those of their peers, which may lead to several social problems in their daily life. All things considered, while dissuading children from believing several languages ’ study as ordinary is seemed to be prejudiced and detrimental, motivating them to do so would bring children huge benefits. Hence, I am supportive of the idea that we should incite kids to view this phenomenon as normal.