Some people today believe that it is acceptable to use physical force to discipline children, but others feel it is completely unacceptable.

While physical punishment has long been adopted by many parents whenever their kids are out of control, I am strongly against this method for two reasons, firstly it takes a toll on the relationship between parents and children, and, secondly it does no good for children's development in long run. To embark on, physical enforcement ignites hatred towards parents in youngsters. Physical disciplinary may have deterrent effects towards spoiled kids but that doesn't mean they understand what goes wrong. They may stop doing the same thing again but feel fear or even discontented at the same time and hence keep their distance from their parents. According to a study conducted by a researcher in the UK, more than half of people who have cold relationship with parents suffered from child abuse before. Apart from that, it has repercussions for children's social development. Children will be discouraged from whatever they say or act if their parents only resort to violence. From time to time, they will be reluctant to speak to the other and act only under their parents ' permission. This has adverse effects on their social development as they don't know how to interact with their peers. An article published in the top-notch UK journal revealed that adults who faced domestic violence when they were young were always associated with worse social relationships. To conclude, the usage of violence at home should no longer be allowed on the ground that it does more harm than good towards children - parents relationships and children's social skills. Positive reinforcements like giving more leisure time should take place instead which prove to have better results on children's behaviour.