It is believed that people who read for pleasure develop their imagination more and acquire better language skills compared to people who prefer watching television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that reading books in leisure can help to ingrain imagination and proficiency in a language; watching tv is a passive activity instead. I partially support the statement as tv has its own significance in learning speaking skills. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion with relevant examples. The first and foremost reason is that literature reading enhances the creativity and imagination energy as one can starts creating the pictures of the characters of a story and building the reading scenes in an imaginary way in his dreams. This phenomenon on a regular basis would make the person live more in his own thoughts. Secondly, imbibe publishing aids to absorb new words and phrases of a language that could polish language skills later. On the other hand, viewing movies and commercials on the screen could make a person familiar with the accent and one can get fluency in the speaking while it is not practicable in reading. Also, watching and listening together on a screen, make it feasible to pronounce words accurately as the movement of lips is important in speaking. Apart from that, watching the screen can also pour some pleasure as one can enjoy the scenic beauty of the place. For instance, by viewing English Channel documentaries, one can access remote areas, which is arduous to reach out in some cases. To conclude then, I pen down saying that both means have their own impact on an individual. Reading novels and journals may increase the imaginary power, whilst watching television helps to learn the accent along with the scenic view.