In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The age to start school varies in different parts of the world. In some nations the starting point is as early as 4 years old, whereas in others it is regarded normal to go to school some years later. While both practices have their reasons, I am prone to agree with beginning formal education when children are more grown. If children are enrolled in school early, they are certainly more likely to develop better learning skills, which can benefit their future academic performance. In addition, in some developed countries, it is a recommended practice as it fosters their interpersonal relationship with the peers and encourage kids to be more sociable. Parents can benefit, too, as they can return to work early. However, at four years old children are still too young and too delicate to separate with their parents and live in a complex environment as schools, which put them in danger of being bullied. In some other countries, it is standard practice for parents to send their offspring to primary school at 7 or 8 years old, which I personally prefer for the fact that the prolonged years spent at home provide young children with amble time to build emotional bond with family members. They can also enjoy longer time playing games and exploring at their own wills, which is proved by scientific research to be an essential part of a child’s personal development in terms of creativity and imagination. Although consequently it might take school starters longer time to adapt to classes and campus, the emotional development gained from more time spent at home is invaluable. In summary, beginning formal education early is indeed beneficial for children ’s academic potential, but the loss of emotional bond with their parents is hard to compensate. This is why putting off a few years in enrolling them in classes is more recommendable.