It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaurs, dodos, etc.). There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that it is not essential to protect species from extinction since it is intrinsic part of lives on this planet. This is an opinion which can strongly be disagreed as will be discussed below. A major reason why humans have a responsibility to avoid loss of species is that the balance of the ecosystem might be disrupted. That is to say, all kinds of animals are dependent on each other, hence the elimination of a specific creature can lead to disruption of life-cycle. Indeed, biodiversity is important for not only the well-being of animals but also the health of plants and climate situation. For instance, the absence of animals which have extinct such as pre-historic species have had a huge effect on the circumstance of the earth, and as a consequence climate has changed significantly. Besides, new medicines and treatments can be found by studying animal species. There is no doubt that research on animals can result in saving people’s lives as researchers reach new heights in healing people during animal experiments. As well as this, it will also ensures people that the medicine is safe for human use and has been tested for side effects. Some people, however, believe that protecting animals is too costly because it involves law enforcement, research and security. Since humans should be prioritized above animals such expenses have to be spent on healthcare and education system. Moreover, many opponents think that not all animals are worth saving due to their influence on the planet. To sum up, it is clear that although there might be some motivations to stop protecting animal, it is vital to keep the earth balanced and preserve all creatures to take advantage of them in experiments.