Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The idea of some part of the society is to educate young children separately in schools depending on their gender. But the other part of the society has the opposite view of this opinion. However, I agreed with the statement that young students should educate in a mixed school rather than sending them into two separate schools. If you consider, having separate education centers for girls and boys there are some advantages such as streamlining the school curriculum system entirely based on gender. The school can focus on subjects which will be more useful for the girls such as aesthetic, science and ladies sports while boys schools can be more focused on engineering subjects and sports for boys. In Sri Lanka, we could vigorously see this separation since the curriculum system has been taken into consideration as girls’ colleges and boys’ colleges, also there is a clear difference of subject areas that are been taught in those schools. However, I enormously believe that the concept of having mixed schools is better because it is not recommended to teach the subjects on a gender basis. Besides, separating the students at a too young age may lessen the opportunities to get to know better each other and how differs their behaviors. As a result, when they grow they do not feel comfortable dealing with each other and it starts to see them as strangers which can potentially turn down the well-being of society. Therefore, the most developed countries do not follow this separation of the schools and the majority of the schools are established as mixed ones. Hence, in the inclusion, I would state both educational patterns have their own pros and cons. However, in my perception, I would prefer to have mixed schools since it is so vital to have a balanced society.