Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

THE PACE AT WHICH WORLD IS BEING BROUGHT CLOSER IS INCREASING EXPONENTIALLY. WITH ADVENT OF INTERNET, ANY MEDIA PRODUCED IN ANY PART OF THE WORLD IS, FOR ALL PRACTICAL PURPOSES, AVAILABLE GLOBALLY. THIS HAS IT'S OWN BENEFITS. AWARENESS OF VARIOUS CULTURES, WHICH OTHERWISE WOULD HAVE REMAINED UNKNOWN TO MAJORITY OF THE PEOPLE, IS INCREASING. THIS ALSO HAS ALLOWED FOR FUSION OF IDEAS AND KNOWLEDGE WHICH HAS NOT ONLY ACCELERATED THE TECHNOLOGICAL ADVANCEMENT HUMAN SPECIES OVERALL, BUT ALSO HAS MADE PEOPLE MORE BROAD MINDED. INDIVIDUAL CULTURES TRY TO PICK UP BEST PRACTICES FROM OTHER CULTURES. ONE SUCH EXAMPLE OF BEST PRACTICE SHARED BY INDIA GLOBALLY IS USE OF YOGA TO MAINTAIN MENTAL HEALTH. ALTHOUGH, YOGA IS BEING PRACTICED IN INDIA FOR CENTURIES, NOT MANY PEOPLE KNEW ABOUT IT UNTIL ACCESS TO INDERTNATIONAL MEDIA WAS MADE EASIER. SINCE THEN MILLIONS OF PEOPLE GLOBALLY HAVE BENEFITTED FROM USE OF YOGA. HOWEVER, THERE IS A FLIP SIDE TO IT. WITH IDEAS AVAILABLE ACROSS CONTINENTS AND BOUNDARIES, UNIQUENESS OF INDIVIDUAL CULTURES IS BEING LOST. ONE SUCH CULTURAL ASPECT THAT, IN MY VIEW, HAS BEEN IMPACTED ADVERSELY THE MOST IS CLOTHING. HISTORICALLY, NONE OF THE ASIAN CULTURES USED SHIRT AND TROUSERS IN THEIR ATTIRE. NOW, SHIRT AND TROUSERS HAVE ALMOST BECOME A GLOBAL ATTIRE FOR MEN. HAVING CONSIDERED BOTH ASPECTS, I BELIEVE, THAT FOR GREATER GOOD, KNOWLEDGE AND IDEAS SHOULD NOT BE RESTRICTED AND SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO FLOW FREELY. THIS HAS LEAD TO GREAT TECHNOLOGICAL ADANCEMENTS ADVANCEMENT AND SOCIAL AWARENESS GLOBALLY. MANY ARGUE THAT JOURNEY OF BANGALORE BECOMING SILICON VALLEY OF INDIA HAS BEEN INSPIRED BY ITS COUNTERPART IN UNSITED STATES OF AMERICA. INTERNATIONAL MEDIA HAS PLAYED A BIG PART IN INSPIRING MANY ENTERPRENEURS IN BANGALORE. TO CONCLUDE, I BELIEVE, THAT BENEFITS OF INTERNATIONAL MEDIA BEING AVAILABLE GLOBALLY OUTWEIGH ITS DISADVANTAGES.