Govenments should spend more money on railways than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the current era, the government of the states spends money on the development of infrastructures such as railways and roads. It is a debate on the notion that whether the government should spend money on railways in comparison to that spend on roads. To begin with, in my opinion, the government must measure the requirement of the community. Cities, where most of the travellers use railways as their prime medium of commuting, require the investment of government resources on railways. Intercity railway such as underground railway network is the heart of the connectivity to the different parts of the city. To illustrate, New York metro station is one the largest network of the underground railway stations that serves over 3 million commuters in the city. Railways have advantages over roads because there is a minuscule chance to get stuck in traffic. On the other hand, it is my view that roads also play a paramount role in the development of the state. Furthermore, it would be detrimental for a government to neglect the expansion of roadways. Right from the start a city's roads play an imperative role in promoting trades among the cities. Some of the commuters prefer to travel by their private vehicles rather than to travel in a public space. For instance, after the advent of pandemic most of the people are now preferring to travel by their own means. To conclude, without sitting on the fence, in my belief the resources spent by the government depends on the kind of state or cities it is governing. Since, most of the cities are quite decently developed, and the pandemic will not last for a long period of time. For the sake of the greater good in this situation it is advisable to spend more money on the railways than on roads.