Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

It is known that several industries which produce food and beverages add a huge quantity of sugar into their products and because of that, people tend to develop diseases. What has aroused concern is whether these manufactured merchandise should have a higher cost in order to make the consumers buy less. I totally agree with the idea that they should be more expensive and the reasons for that will be explained later. To begin with, it is proved that one of the main factors that lead one to become obese is the high consumption of sweet, for instance, a famous scientific American magazine published in one of its articles that the American citizens are becoming fatter and fatter as a result of their eating habits, which include lots of doughnuts, cupcakes and cakes that are sold for a very low price, sometimes even for some cents, stimulating them to buy in a high quantity, consequently, leading them to a certain degree of obesity which will cause future health problems such as diabetes, heart-related problems and many others. By increasing the price of these products, many consumers will surely benefit from it, they will think it over before buying them, moreover they may start feeding themselves in a healthier way, avoiding certain health problems in the future. Another major reason is that if people become healthier, surely they will lose weight, and in addition to that, they increase their self-esteem. To conclude, it is obvious that sugary products harm people´s health, companies know about that and they ought to think of their clients´ well-being, it could be either producing healthier food with less sugar or increasing the price of their commodity, which I believe it would be totally out of question for them. So, the decision of having a healthy life depends on us, choosing the best option would be to avoid ingesting this kind of products.