Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

There is no doubt that english has been widespread and applied in many countries for different purposes. I strongly agree that it is extremely imperative for everyone to learn this global language as well as preserve our local languages by effort from goverments government and individuals. On the one hand, it is crucial to be proficient in english for communication and work purposes in many countries. It is clear that english is a dominant language that we can use while living abroad or traveling to other areas. For example, all tourist attractions in most countries will have english subtitles or instructions beside their own languages, which can help foreign visitors understand easily and follow the accurate guidance. Furthermore, english is also been an effective tool for trading or business negotiations among entreprenuers around the world. An obvious evidence is selling products on Amazon website that we have to write and understand english basically to chat and confirm the deals with our customers. As a result, there are no boundaries to work or travel all over the world if we master a particular level of english. On the other hard, the requirement for protecting our local languages is also urgent and fundamental. A language began as the same time as the appearance of a community, which represent the culture and specific characters of a community or a country. Therefore, preserving our languages hold a tremendous impacts on the existence of a country. Isreal could be a clear instance for the persistence of keeping their language despite being intruded by foreign countries for hundred years. Therefore, they can be united easily and developed the economy and many people can come back to their home towns because they still hold the mother tongue. To protect the local languages, both citenzens and goverments government should contribute to maintain them by some practical approaches. One easy way is designing subjects relating to mother tonges tongue at school for students and using them in daily converstations. Another method is that governments can organize some contests about their local languages grammar or vocabulary, which stimulate more people to attend and acquire knowledge. Last but not least, all countries should try to globalize their languages with foreign counterparts. That would help to spread their languages and encourage more people to use in the future. In conclusion, it is beneficial for people to learn english and use it for different purposes. Meanwhile, our local languages also need to be protected for survival and we can take some measures to keep using it continually.