Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As science and technology develops, an increasing number of environmental problems have been led. Some people believe that they should live a primitive lifestyle so as to resolve these problems, while others insist that new scientific inventions and innovations can provide more access to improve the environment. It is argued by some people that living life in a simpler way to some extent can prevent further environmental problems these days mainly because simplifying lifestyle means the reduction in dependence on much energy -based modern equipment, which will reduce the consumption of energy and the release of hazardous substances. For example, more people who are willing to walk, cycle or use public transport instead of private vehicles to school or work, so less automobile exhaust will be discharged that global warming might be improved gradually; otherwise, climate changes and environmental crises will deteriorate human beings’ living environment endlessly. (Also, if people can reduce TV viewing and video game playing and take advantage of natural light whenever possible to lower electricity consumption at home, some environmental issues led by electric energy consumption will be relieved.) New technologies are emerging to address the environmental challenges caused by past technologies and to offer green solutions to our needs and concerns. The development of science and technology will provide us with more environmental-friendly energy, equipment and materials. For instance, green energy technology is evolving rapidly, helping many countries harness clean, renewable sources of power such as wind, solar, hydro and geothermal energy. Wind turbines, solar panels, hydroelectric generators and geothermal heat pumps enable them to reduce the pollution from fossil fuels, including coal, natural gas and oil, and therefore mitigate some environmental issues led by greenhouse gas and chemical contaminants. In my opinion, people should not be inclined to either side. A simpler lifestyle does not mean that people should stop developing technology. Rather, it encourages them to rethink their way of using technology from the point of environmental protection. On the other hand, technology can contribute to a cleaner environment, but this should not be an excuse for their improper use of some technologies. Therefore, combining simpler lifestyles and hi-tech methods to deal with environmental issues is the ultimate solution for a more satisfying outcome.