In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, although more and more people tend to smoke in comparison with the past, the governments are strict to smoking; as a result, in the majority of countries, citizens are not allowed to smoke in public places. I believe that this restriction is justified, as smoking affects not only a smoker, but all people around them; additionally, the number of smokers might decline considerably due to that ban, which renders society healthier. To start with, when a person smokes, the fumes from the cigarettes distribute rapidly; consequently, if the individual smokes in a crowded place, other people are involved in smoking as well, yet in the passive form. This can lead to the formation of different respiratory diseases. The research of the University of Manchester, which was published in 2016, concluded that 50% of people suffered illnesses caused by passive smoking in the time range between 1990 and 2000, while these figures decreased to 20% by the end of 2015. Hence, the ban is needed in order to reduce the effect on people who have not chosen to smoke. Furthermore, smoking is widely considered a bad habitat; therefore, some restrictions may reduce significantly the number of smokers. The majority wants to get rid of that habitat, yet they are unable to do that due to some reasons such as strong addiction. However, the ban discourages smoking and makes this activity harder to arrange due to a limited number of places adapted for smoking. As a result, the health of the citizens may get better. In the light of the thoughts elaborated upon, I would like to conclude, that making smoking in public places illegal is justified as it decreases the number of passive smokers along with the actual smokers, which contributes to the formation of a healthier population.