Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether dress or appearance is more important in people's careers. Some employers pay more attention to people's clothes, while others believe that the work quality is more crucial. In my view, both sides of opinions are reasonable because they can bring complementary benefits. Employers who think employees dress should be valued may put forth the following arguments. Firstly, a decent dress shows respect to the consumers. Consumers will have a good impression of others who dress appropriately. For example, it is necessary for people who are working as a waiter or waitress to dress well since the beautiful uniform will give customers a professional sense, which will make customers feel they are respected, improving the satisfaction. Secondly, it can also motivate employers. It is common to see that employers also want to be well dressed because it is their right to do this. If the employee does not allow it, they will feel unfair and complain to their employers, which will cut their enthusiasm for work. However, encouraging employers to dress beautifully will alleviate such severe consequences. Others who believe that the quality of work is the key aspect can also justify their opinions. It is undeniable that the working ability of employers is the most important thing comparing with other factors because this is the basic condition for employers. For instance, the ideal candidate for customer service will have excellent interpersonal skills and good patience. If workers cannot communicate with clients correctly and politely, their clients are likely to use the law to deal with their problems, which will cost a lot for employers, causing irreversible financial and reputational loss. Moreover, the aim of employers to hire staff is to make profits rather than other unrelating reasons, which decides the main requirement of employers is the perfect practice skill. They will not hire someone who cannot contribute to their business as they want to find people to help them to make money. In conclusion, from the above analysis, I think both opinions are helpful to employees and employers if they can balance the dress and the working skills.