Children are facing more pressure nowadays from academic, social, and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

We all know that a child should be stress-free for better growth. However, in the last few decades, due to some reasons, children experience lots of pressure in their daily routine in terms of academic, social, and commercial aspects. In this essay, I will examine the main reasons why this is happening and put forward several solutions for this issue. One of the major root causes of this problem, in my view, is that parents expect / want their children to be the best in every field. In this quest to make them masters in academics, they send their children to the best schools and private coaching centres in town and want them to bring home the first rank. This exerts a great deal of pressure on children and those who fail to cope with it may even commit suicide. To exemplify, lately, we read a lot about teenagers committing suicide before the exam or after the results are announced because they are afraid of disappointing their parents. Secondly, competition has increased. It is no longer enough to be the best in one’s class or school. Today, each child is competing with the rest of the world. Peer pressure is another issue that children cope with. In this age of the internet, kids post even the minute details of their on social media and unwittingly subject themselves to trolling and cyber crime. In order to tackle this thorny issue, the most effective one is changing the attitude towards competitions. They should compete with themselves rather than with the rest of the world as it certainly helps them to improve their work day by day without any tension. Moreover, often parents choose their child’s extra-curricular activity according to the current trend. But if they want their child to learn something with pleasure, they should find out their child’s natural talent without forcing anything on them. To conclude, children are under tremendous pressure these days because of unrealistic expectations of their parents and growing competition. However, changing attitude towards studies and concepts of success will improve the situation.