As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Living in a fast-paced society, people are chasing their own happiness in various ways. Since a career takes the majority of one person’s time, receive a sense of satisfaction in work is becoming very essential for all. The reasons behind this will be discussed in the following essay, and also the practical condition of such a satisfactory goal in the job market will also be elaborated. To begin with, there are both intrinsic and extrinsic factors affecting people’s sense of fulfilment in the job. Firstly, the intrinsic reasons mainly contain one’s own career expectation, such as goal achieving, task completing, and promotion at work. Those positive result-orientated elements drive employees to work harder in order to achieve his or her own dream at work. Secondly, the extrinsic factors are, of course, playing a significant role in motivating staff to work hard. Higher payment at work, for example, signals an equivalence of smart working performance, while flexible working hours are also representing a certain trust from the company, so that it can give workers much more initiative to achieve higher goals. Even though all of the above factors seem to be practical for employees, but the real influence of those factors depends on the various situations of an individual. For instance, a staff with a relatively high diploma from decent universities can have the opportunities to chase almost all of the mentioned elements at work. However, if a person doesn’t possess a qualified level of a particular job, but still require a high salary, it would be very unrealistic. Furthermore, even if you don't have a high educational level, a rich working experience can also be a competitive factor for employees to enjoy a high level of satisfaction. In conclusion, though everyone wishes to gain as much satisfaction at work as possible, it is only practical for those who have higher educational levels or rich working experience.