Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than other experiences we may have in life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

It is shown by researchers that the characteristics we are born with have more impact on our personality than the environment we grow up in it. However, I think both of them can overlap each other. On the one hand, our genes have a huge role in our personality and characteristics. Many mental or psychological disorders can be transferred to us genetically. For example, if one of our parents or even ancestors has depression or bipolar, it can be passed away to us via our genes easily. It is important to know about our historical family diseases and their impact on our mental status. On the other hand, there is a strong relation between our environment and our parent’s behavior and activating those genes we inherited. For instance, if we have depression genes but we develop in a family who is happy all the time, it is early possible to experience depression in our life. In contrast, there is a real fact that you may have depression most of your life because of struggling with so many problems and challenges all the time, although you don’t have the related genes. Another example is a bipolar disorder that may not be activated if we develop in a nutritious family and environment. In conclusion, while genes are so important and have more effect on our personality, I think the environment and behavior of our family are important too and shouldn’t be ignored.