Many cities have serious problem of traffic congestion. What are the causes of this and what are some possible solutions

In recent times, urban areas have seen an exponential rise in vehicles running on roads. As a result, huge traffic congestions occur more frequently. Such blockage of vehicles creates trouble for citizens as well as for the government. There are many root causes of this and I believe appropriate steps can be taken to overcome it. To begin with, due to the lucrative job opportunities in cities, more and more people move in. Consequently, increasing the count of cars and bikes running on the roads. Moreover, office goers, in general, prefer driving over travelling by buses or local trains. Hence, long queues of cars formed over the lanes. To exemplify, once in China, traffic jams lasted for eleven days in a row, creating a 50-mile long queue of vehicles. Therefore, it is vital to look after this problem and propose plausible solutions. There are many effective ways to manage urban traffic. First and foremost is an improved infrastructure of public transport. By having a range of options available to travel, people often tend to use it over personal cars. Besides this, organizations should use multiple shifts, as it can distribute the load on the highways. In Mumbai, corporate offices when started odd working hours, resulting in the reduction of 30 percentages of road jams during the peak hours. To conclude, from local to administrative departments, everyone is affected by road blockages. With collaboration from the public and the organizations, and facilities from the government, it is possible to reduce this problem significantly.