Nowadays more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. is this a positive or negative development?

In this era of technological advancement online popularity is considered as a priority among many. People prefer to socialize through online platforms rather than having an in-person conversation. In my opinion this is a rather, large negative attribute faced by our society today. To begin with, many of us have hundreds of virtual friends on applications such as Facebook and instagram. But in reality the number of actual friends we have, with whom we spend time physically, is much lesser. This has lead to a mentally unhealthy lifestyle among many. For instance, today, social networking addiction is considered as a mental health illness by the psychiartric department. In addition to this it has also created various other physical illnesses related to eye-sight, neck issues, tendonitis on wrists and so on. All of which are caused due to the over use of cellphones and computers for accessing such online sites. Furthermore, people have forgotten the art of conversation nowadays. Everyone prefer to talk or chat over a phone rather than talking over a friendly dinner or over a coffee. To exemplify, a recent study among the younger generation shows that, seven out of ten candidates were unable to initiate conversation and while, enaged in the same they were having difficulty in maintaining eye contact. This trend has an adverse effect on our generation's socializing and interpersonal skills. To conclude, over- dependance on digital platforms has created several mental and physical issues among us. It has formed a huge negative impact on our methods to socialize.