In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some societies, children are often encouraged to try their best if they want to achieve something. Putting emphasis on hard working would certainly improve children's ability but there will also have some drawbacks. On the one hand, this principle will definitely benefits kids both in academic way and the practical way. Once children understand that they can achieve anything as long as they work hard, they will be inspired and motivated. That is means that children get a good score in school after they try their best to study, they will work even hard and spend more time on study for the future, as they truly believe that hard working pays back. In addition, if these enter the job market or encounter more practical problems when they grow, such as financial crisis, they will less likely to give up and more likely to stick up with it. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to having promote this idea to children. First at all, it would largely diminish the careless and joyful time of children once they had told this thought too early. Additionally, children tend to pay more attention to the results and less attention to process of how they achieve it, which is detrimental to the development of children' mental health Secondly, if children go through some failures after they put so much strength to some goals, they may be discouraged and frustrating which will lead to a negative situation for them. In conclusion, motivating children by telling them that they can do anythig if they try hard enough has some benefits for their future development, however, it will inevitably poses negative effect on them.