Some people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places like libraries, shop and on public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is an irrefutable fact that telecommunications and mobile phones have become basic life necessities. Some people believe that mobile phones should be prohibited in public areas such as libraries, parks, shops, and etc. Personally, I partially agree with this opinion. The following paragraphs will highlight my personal perspective along with relevant examples. To commence with the factors that drive people to ban mobile phones in public places, first and foremost, they can be a source of distraction for people. For instance, in a library, a loud ringtone can grab everyone's attention. Subsequently, individuals might be irritated by constant distraction and not be able to fully focus on their readings. Secondly, modern mobile phones have cameras; therefore, the privacy of some people such as famous actors or singers may be vulnerable. This can result in a violation of basic human rights for privacy. Alternatively, gadgets can save the lives of the ones in danger. For example, rescue services can easily locate the person from a call and provide help. Moreover, public phone booths are on the verge of extinction. Some people enjoy listening to music or an audiobook while commuting to their work or study places on public transport. By listening to the audio on headphones they do not distract anyone. In a nutshell, mobile phones were invented only three decades ago; hence, people need some time to learn how to use them properly in public. Overall, I am convinced that mobile phones should be banned in public places where people need to stay focused, like libraries and schools. However, it should be accessible in parks and public transport.