As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

After graduating from school, most public devolve a major part of their life to work. Therefore, having a high level of job satisfaction has an important influence on people’s well beings. I believe that an ordinary workload, an amicable work atmosphere and a reasonable salary could lead to job satisfaction. There are three aspects which will improve people’s job satisfaction. Firstly, people who working a long time and having an excessive workload tend to feel depressed and frustrating. Hence a regular working hours and workload will lead to relatively high job satisfaction of employees. Secondly, If the salaries of workers are not live up to their expectations, they will have a sense of feeling that their hard-working did not be rewarding and appreciated,which will definitely result in low job satisfaction. So the paycheck of people should be adequate to provide for themselves and their family and give them a sense of achievement. In addition, a friendly and amicable work atmosphere which means that employees and employers could get along could also boost people’s wellbeing and satisfaction in the workplace. It is true that not everyone will enjoy their jobs. In the increasingly competitive job market and the era of economic downturn, it is impossible that everyone could practise the profession that they are interested in. For instance, people who pursuing jobs in the financial field are less likely to enjoy their work, as these certain jobs tend to be more repetitive and tedious. In conclusion, adults spend most of their time and energy in the workplace. Therefore, job satisfaction plays an essential part in people’s lives. There are several factors that contribute to this. However, it is unrealistic to have the expectation that everyone could love their work since different jobs have different requirements.