Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

From the beginning of the modern age, architecture has always been a topic of interest for all human beings. Many people claim that houses should be built based on the surrounding designs while others argue that houses should be constructed according to the owners’ desire. In this essay, I will discuss both mentioned views before drawing the conclusion why I lean toward the latter. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the erecting a house that follows the conventional style has several beneficial impacts, namely on tourism. There is a wide range of tourist attractions, which attract millions of visitors, that have gained reputation for their historic and traditional buildings. Take Hoi An for an example, all houses and stores in this area follow the traditional architecture of Viet Nam, which makes it ubiquitous and stand among the most famous destinations in Viet Nam. As a result, thanks to these constructions, tourism is boosted, which eventually contributes to the national economy. On the other hand, I believe that dwellers should be the one who decides the design of their house. The primary reason is that they are the legal owners, which means that they have the right to erect and decorate their house however they want to. It is more pleasant to live in as they are not forced to build their house in a way that they do not prefer. Another reason is that building houses that follow modern design is more economical as this style is more simple and minimal compared to the traditional architecture. By doing this, citizens can save a great amount of money to invest in other aspects of their life and fulfill their future wishes. In conclusion, it is worth considering building a house that blends in with the local design. Nonetheless, I am more convinced that every citizen should have the freedom to choose the architecture of their accommodation.