In the past, most people worked for small businesses, while more people now work for large businesses. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working for large businesses?

With the economic development, many companies have achieved impressive results. While earlier it was common to work within small firms, now people mostly have a job at huge corporations. In this essay, I will examine what I consider to be the benefits and potential drawbacks of working in a powerful company. There are several advantages stemming from the fact that corporations have enormous profits. The main one is the greater income employee receives. Indeed, having a great market share enterprises tend to pay their workers much more than the average salary on the job market. That is why, doing the same, employees are paid more amount of money. In addition, such companies have a tendency to invest a lot into employee’s development. By providing them with advanced and expensive academic courses related to job duties in order to boost worker’s performance. At the same time, small businesses are really limited in these two cases as have less budgeting. Despite these positives, disadvantages should be considered too. Many people struggle to be promoted in such firms. Obviously, there is a lack of opportunities for promotion as the number of employees is huge and in order to get the desired position you will probably have to wait until the current person in this position will be promoted higher, that is not the case for small firms though. Moreover, you could be easily replaced by another person. Corporations do not appreciate their team as much as small companies do, and could fire even if you did a minor mistake. In conclusion, although there are some benefits that will allow you to live easier with a better wage and have constant development of your knowledge, the risk of staying a long time at one vacancy or being dismissed is high.