Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are the main source for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy such as solar power and wind power. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that many nations still use fossil fuels as a main source of energy, while other countries replace coal and oil with renewable energy. While I agree that renewable sources bring tangible benefits to society, I would argue that these types of energy have caused some consequences. There are many reasons why non-renewable sources of energy are widely used over the world. Firstly, alternative sources such as nuclear power caused many disasters in the past. For example, the disasters stemming from the explosion of nuclear plants in Japan not only killed many people but also left a legacy of cancer deaths for the future generation. Secondly, local people have opposed the installation of wind farms. Because these factories create a lot of noise and affect the landscapes. Moreover, governments must spend a great deal of money on infrastructure and research to exploit these types of energy. However, it is undisputed that alternative sources of energy should be encouraged to use. The most important thing is that alternative sources are eco-friendly, because the burning of oil or coal releases more emissions than the use of renewable sources. The exploitation of renewable energy mitigates the serious consequences resulting from fossil fuels such as poor quality of air or global warming. Another thing is that while fossil fuels are running out, energy sources, including solar power, tidal power, wind power and nuclear power, are boundless supplies of energy. So, the public can afford to buy them to use in their daily lives. In conclusion, I consider that humans should take advantage of renewable sources of energy, despite the safety concerns and other dangers.