In some countries younger people are increasingly losing interest in teaching. Why is this happening ? What can be done to improve the situation ? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience

It is true that in some of the nations, youth is not very keen to opt for a teaching profession, primarily in developed or financially sound countries. Let’s put some light on few reasons of new graduates not getting into the teaching field and the steps which can be considered to improve the situation. The general observation is that in last few years fresh graduates or college pass outs are not willing to choose the profession to work in the education field. This situation is generally observed in the developed countries and the countries which are doing well. This situation can be due to not attractive perks, facilities, or any other social benefits. Furthermore, this situation can also arise when there are good opportunities in different industries, like Information Technology, Finance and Space. We see that the wages, other industries like Telecommunication or Finance provides, are far better than a teacher’s wages. Whereas these are not available in teaching. Few steps which can be considered to make the teaching attractive to youth which are mentioned herewith- offer better salaries, provides facilities of research for the interested or talented individuals, provide options of giving a higher post when meeting certain criteria of eligibility. Moreover, if we create social awareness, sensitivity and sense of responsibility to create a better society in the new graduates or youth, definitely young generation will start liking this profession and choose it. As an example - Dr Rajan, the former Governor of Reserve Bank of India is a professor, in one of the University in USA and Governor post was given to him based on his past research, experience and academic background. There are many such examples at different levels. To conclude, younger people are not choosing the teaching profession due to lack of attractiveness and better prospects for their career however if they are given options of getting better wages, future security, and an autonomy of choosing better career prospects in life, the situation can be converted to positive outcome.