Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In order to provide the best possible answer for this question, we need an exact name of which country are we discussing. In this case, I will talk about “Iran”. Many people in Iran, thinks that increasing penalties, will lead traffic accidents to reduction but in my opinion, we need a mix of punishments and improving the quality of our products and routes. Firstly, we need to force the automobile and road construction industries to follow strict rules, thus we can have standard routes with safe vehicles. As a result, people with not get stuck in their car after an accident or they will not fall out of the road because of a sharp turn. Secondly, we need to make some strict laws regarding both pedestrians and drivers in addition to some crazy fines for those who refuse to abide by these laws. For instance, the amount of fine for passing the traffic light is not too much in Iran, so, many drivers will ignore it with ease of mind. In conclusion, while the punishments seem to be the only way of decreasing the traffic accidents, I think there are many other things too, that needs to be cared of.