Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since the internet has widely replaced their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

It is believed that there is a waste of money on keeping public libraries because the function of the internet substitutes public libraries in many aspects. I agree with that the function of public libraries was replaced by the internet to a large extent. However, I also believe that the existence of public libraries is extremely significant. There are some reasons why the internet is more beneficial than libraries. People can experience the convenience of online books and reduce their expenses on time and travel. The digital evolution brings a variety of advantages to people such as the huge amount of types of books, unrestricted opening hours of books and the cost of travelling to the public libraries especially for those who live in the rural areas. The public libraries can offer knowledge for people from all walks of life. In this case, problems of social inequities can be reduced with the function of libraries because people regardless of the socioeconomic state can have a free opportunity to gain knowledge. Libraries cannot only offer the opportunity for people to read books, but also have other functions that cannot be replaced by the internet. In addition, the Community Council can organize a wide range of activities such as books clubs and books sharing meetings there to gather the local community together so that individuals can feel a sense of belonging of the community. Furthermore, it is important for people to increase face to face interaction with each other by this way. As far as I am concerned, the replacement of public libraries is unreasonable. This is because everyone in the society has the free access to knowledge and have activities there. Thus, it brings the benefit of the public libraries are not restricted to individuals, but also to the community where public libraries exist. On the one hand, the function of the internet that brings to individuals is very beneficial. On the other hand, the existence of public libraries due to its advantages to every person in the society.