2. In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measure could be taken to prevent this?

Today’s industrial and construction development flourished and the declining quality of air and water is the biggest problem in many developing countries, especially caused by those sectors. In this essay, I intend to explore some possible solutions to prevent this issue. Chief among the solutions to this problem is gaining awareness about the environment to people, mainly the owner of industry and construction. This is because the development of industry and construction are not accompanied by its realization of the impact on the surrounding environment. Therefore, the government should educate the public and owner those industries through seminars and counselling and also give solution to industrial and construction waste. In order to create a big impact, we should make a sustainable movement which is disseminated to the public. While the owners of those businesses are starting to prevent these issues, we must contribute with real action. This contribution might be in the form of sustainability programs – a reforestation involving the government and with the local community and create the anti-plastic movement. Last but not least, tightening the policy about industry waste management and gas emissions produced by in construction sectors is a must. The policy leads to improvement of our built environment as well as mitigate the imminent threat of climate change. A green buildings policy is one of the examples for the Architecture, Engineering, and Construction industry. In summary, this problem is unlikely to be resolved in the short term, especially for the areas already affected. However, I am convinced this solution at least would reduce the decreasing quality of air and water in the future.