Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees work from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh disadvantages?

It is believed that working from home rather than commuting to a workplace would be more convenient and effective on a daily basis. Working and earning an income is essential for the survival of all people. In my opinion, work from home brings numerous professional and personal benefits which outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, commuting consumes considerable time every day. In the modern world, every employee demands higher productivity in which every second count. Therefore, telecommuting helps an employee to save their time. That extra time could be converted into productive work, especially in metropolitan cities like Mumbai and Delhi. It can limit some risks that they may face and save themselves while travelling, such as car accidents or being robbed by thieves. Even if an employee is isolated in their home office, knowing their spouse or child is nearby in the other room can be a calming force. For employees whose hours in the office rack up, more time to be around their family is a distinct advantage. On the other hand, a lack of face to face interaction at the office would reduce the professional development of an employee. Improving communication skills and other soft skills is crucial for career development and this is not possible when employees telecommute. Additionally, it is impossible to telecommute for people who work in the manufacturing sector because their work needs to be monitored continuously. However, some professionals, like those in the Information technology sector, could enjoy the benefits offered by telecommuting since most of their projects could be done from a remote location. In conclusion, although telecommuting has some drawbacks, I believe that the additional time and flexibility offered by it is extremely beneficial for employees of certain job sectors. Despite the fact that telecommuting negatively affects the rapid professional development of an individual, it increases the productivity that employers enjoy the most.