Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are the main source for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy such as solar power and wind power. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that some countries increase their dependence on fossil fuels, but others choose to use alternative sources of energy instead of the consumption of oil and coal. While I think that reliance on renewable sources brings tangible benefits to people, I agree that there are some negative consequences of these kinds of energy. Dependence on renewable sources has led to some issues. The most important impact is the safety concerns. For example, some incidents such as the explosion of nuclear plants in Japan have caused poisonous and radioactive emissions, which not only killed people but also left a legacy of cancer deaths in the future. Moreover, nuclear power is blamed for its potential to pollute the environment. Another thing is that other kinds of energy are criticized for other reasons. For instance, many local communities oppose the installation of wind farms which causes too much noise and affects the landscape. In addition, some people think that a great deal of money is required to carry out projects on alternative sources seems to be a waste of money. However, it is evident that the consumption of renewable sources is more beneficial than the use of fossil fuels. Firstly, the burning of non-renewable energy has discharged a large amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, while renewable energy sources are eco-friendly. Thus, the consumption of renewable sources contributes to improving the quality of air and mitigating other negative consequences including global warming and climate change. Secondly, fossil fuels are exhausted and more expensive. Alternative sources such as solar and tidal power will guarantee boundless supplies of energy for future generations. In conclusion, despite some negative consequences such as safety concerns and environmental pollution, countries over the world should use these types of energy.