In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

21st century is the period of all type of advances, especially technological. Sooner or later daily habits such as reading the newspaper may happen online on mobile devices and laptops. However as any other prediction, there are always exceptions in the population. On one hand, making newspapers available online may be of more convenience to many. It will be of easier to accces ad read the daily news just with a single tap on the screens of our mobile phones. Additionally, it will also be cheaper and may be more interactive as videos, ads and many more new features can be added to the virtual versions. Consequently, all of this advantages listed above, could encourage the majority of perplexed to convert from physical newspapers to virtual ones. Similarly, books could also be modernised by making them available online, which can spare the hassle of bringing a big book or several books you would like to read, leaving you with more luggage space or lighter backpack. All of this pros, could lead to the decrease in numbers of newspapers and books being bought significantly. On the other hand, a significant minority of the worldwide population oppose against this modernisation. It all comes down to personal preference, the modern world is usually associated with fast paced way of living, which is not for all. Many prefer reading their news or stories with a physical newspaper or book in their hands. Some say it enhances their experience and find it more interactive. For instance, the crosswords at the last page of most newspapers is a favourite pass-time activity for elderly people. However, it is not only personal reasons but also health reasons that may benefit physician meaning of reading rather than digital ones. Screens have been proven b a number of studies to be detrimentally harmful for the eyes. The eye-health of the younger generations have seriously deteriorated compared to that of the elder generations at their age. Undeniably, it will continue to get worse if no measures are taken. Consequently, all of the reasons pointed out may lead to an increased usage of traditional meanings of reading. In my opinion, there will still be people buying printed copies of newspapers and books, even if it is significantly less. As the alarming rate at which the sight of children is worsening more and more each year, will not go unnoticed and unaddressed.