Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether students should choose a course they like or they should be forced to study something that has a good future. While having a good future is important, I believe studying in their favorite choice is more important. There are various reasons why people believe that students should study certain courses at university. They may assert that majors like engineering, medicine, and IT are probably more beneficial than other majors. They provide more social levels, job opportunities, and income. Therefore, their life quality would be improved to a high level. On the other hand, governments can benefit from these special courses by filling the gaps in the industry and make more progress in their countries. Finally, a focus on these subjects in high education can lead to higher social achievement, more respect, and a guaranteed future even for the next generations. In spite of these arguments, I believe that students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. In my opinion, if students have passion for what they are studying, they can be successful in the future and society would benefit from their profession. Moreover, they can feel peace at themselves which is so crucial during their lives. Besides that, nobody can predict the future and it is really possible that we need more artists in different areas than engineers and dentists. In conclusion, although it may seem sensible to force students to study more useful courses, I personally prefer the current system of education that everybody has the right to choose whatever he/she likes.