International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Over the last few years, the trend of foreign travelling has increased dramatically all around the globe. Therefore, it is definitely true that there are several benefits of overseas tourism, but it has a plethora of drawbacks as well. However, from my perspective, the demerits of travelling to foreign countries are significantly more than its merits. To begin with, exterior tourism leads to deforestation. In other words, a touristy location requires a number of hotels and resorts and as a result, many forests and green landscapes are exploited to develop accommodational areas. Moreover, the pressure on natural resources increases and the rate of waste also escalates. To elaborate, international travelling causes pollution; consequently, the air and water quality is compromised. For instance, Mount Everest is one of the most popular tourist locations, but it has been reported that the amount of garbage produced by the travellers in that area has grown magnificently over the years. Furthermore, global tourism also results in overpopulation. To elucidate, holiday destinations are extremely crowded in all the seasons which has an adverse effect on the regional populace and the environment. For example, in India, hilly areas such as Shimla and Manali are densely populated by international tourists for the whole year. In addition, the local pupils also suffer a lot, they have to quit their traditional jobs such as farming and fishing, and are forced to engage in sectors like professional guides and hotel management. To conclude, in my opinion, there are undoubtedly numerous advantages of overseas travelling, but the disadvantages like overpopulation and environmental degradation are way more grave, and they surely outweigh the positives of worldwide tourism tremendously.