There is an increasing amount of advertising directed at children which encourages them to buy goods such as toys and snacks. Many parents are worried that these advertisements put too much pressure on children, while some advertisers claim that they provide useful information to children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether the advertisement should be exposed to children. Although these advertisements make children aware of some important aspects, I believe that these adverts are developing the materialistic wants in pupils. Proponents contend that children are considered vulnerable by the promotional companies as they target them while advertising their products, and they got easily swayed away by the misleading adverts. As a result, they pester their parents to buy them those goods, which makes them a part of the throwaway society. For example, Chocos, a cereal selling company, was able to increase its turnover only by telecasting attractive advertisements on kids channels like Disney, Hungama after facing huge losses in 2015. Therefore, advertisements aimed at children should not be encouraged as they are making them materialistic. However, people in favour of advertisements argue that they help to increase the children's awareness about different topics and through the medium of educational adverts, they can learn something new. For instance, Amul advertised its milk on television by linking its company with India's rich heritage, and this advert received a huge appreciation from parents and the society as it portrayed their country's culture as a way of promoting their product. Moreover, there are some adverts also, which help pupils to inculcate good habits in themselves like the advert of Colgate company, which motivates children to brush their teeth twice a day. To conclude, in my opinion, adverts do more harm to the children than good by manipulating them to buy their goods, and those should be banned by the government.