In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Transportation plays a vital role in making life comfortable. It is often thought that a large portion of the budget should be allocated to building train systems to connect cities. However, some might say that it should rather be spent on improvement of the current means of commuting. In this essay, I will be discussing both statements, arrive at a conclusion, and give my personal opinion. On the one hand, it is essential to be at par with the current technological advancements. One way to create a progressive city is by providing adequate transport systems. For example, Pasig City is considered one of the most heavily dense metropolitans in the Philippines, wherein the majority of the employees use public vehicles to go to and from their respective jobs. In order to meet the demands of the labour force, the construction of interlink train systems is necessary. If these are built, people will become more productive in work because less time is spent travelling on congested roads. On the other hand, such major improvements are too expensive, especially for developing countries. Other aspects of transportation should be given priority. For instance, the countryside has buses, jeepneys, and an existing rail transit that connects them to the city proper. However, citizens have a hard time using these amenities because they are inadequate. The government should then use the budget to provide more public vehicles as well as impose standards to strengthen programs. In conclusion, in other parts of the world, it is believed that constructing advanced railway systems should be the priority to connect various cities. Nonetheless, others think that it is just a waste of money. In my opinion, these funds should be used to develop the existing means of transport. In this way, the remaining money can be allocated to other developments.