It is common for people to travel long distances for work and study. Some argue that longer commute times negatively affect people while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, vast distances are covered by individuals for employment and education purpose. A set of people believe that travelling such long distances have destructive consequences on individuals. Others, however, contradict and believe in no such negatives associated with commuting huge distances. This essay will discuss both sides followed by a logical opinion. On one side, covering longer distances on daily basis to earn a livelihood or for educational purposes makes people exhausted. This is because travelling longer distances involves traffic jams, crowds in public transport which consume the physical as well as mental strength of a commuter. Consequently, the productivity at work and the concentration in studies, both are hampered by such travels. For instance, Delhi University students residing in the southern part of Delhi often become exhausted by devoting 3 hours of one side travel that includes buses, metro, and autorickshaws which impacts their studies negatively and leave them exhausted by the end of the day. Therefore, longer distances commute for work and studies are certainly destructive for people as it makes people tired. On the other hand, other sets of individuals argue that no such consequences exist because long-distance travel may inculcate punctuality in individuals. It means, the people who travel every day to far locations to earn money or to gain education may learn an essential skill which is time management as they have to manage each and everything including the daily struggle to commute to their destinations. As a result, such skills may evolve them for their subsequent life. For instance, Cab drivers cover such long distances on daily basis to earn money which develops their time management skills. However, such a skill is worthless if it leaves you tired and affects your performance at studies and at work in the present time. In conclusion, although commuting long distances to work or study may develop time management in people, however, a tired brain and body certainly become unproductive by long travels as it becomes exhausted.