Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Many people are faced with the difficult decision to choose between a house or an apartment as a place to live. Although both options provide some disadvantages, there are more downsides to residing in a detached house than benefits considering the current social situations. One evident benefit of living in a house is the low-stress environment. In an apartment, tenants normally have to be mindful of their noise and behaviour as they live in close proximity to their neighbours. A house, in contrast, provides a larger personal space, allowing one to relieve stress. Another benefit of living in a house is that it offers more freedom to renovate. Creating a living space tailored to one's needs is crucial for a high quality of life. However, the decision to live in a house is accompanied by several disadvantages, one of which is the need for maintenance. Normally a landlord has the responsibility to address issues in an apartment such as power failure. A person living in a house, on the other hand, has to deal with such household problems. This reduces the amount of free time available for a house owner. In addition, there is a problem with the cost. Because of the rapid population growth, housing prices have been rising steadily, which makes it increasingly difficult to maintain a house financially. This leads to a lower quality of life as it reduces the house owner's disposable income. Having a house, furthermore, minimises the flexibility to relocate, which is especially disadvantageous in the present-day society where rapid technological development frequently shifts the way individuals work. For example, automation and the consequent loss of the job is a common problem that workers face and owning a house in this situation becomes a major obstacle to relocation for another career. In conclusion, there are more drawbacks to living in a house than benefits. It is crucial that people make a decision for their home after careful consideration.