Some people are of the opinion that we must discontinue using fossil fuels and adopt renewable sources of energy. Yet others feel that renewable sources of energy are not as dependable as fossil fuels. Discuss both views.

Most people believe that the adoption of alternative energy sources and discontinuation of using non-renewable power sources is better for the environment, as opposed to that, some people do not find them reliable as fossil fuels have become the topic of discussion. To start with, carbon-containing fuels are hazardous to the environment as they release carbon dioxide and other harmful carbon compounds in the environment. As a result of that, global warming has become a threat because a hole is created in the ozone layer leading to the increased exposure to ultraviolet rays resulting in rising in the temperature and sea level. In addition to that, we are having a limited amount of these substances. Moreover, the formation takes thousands of years, and the rate of consumption is way too high for that of formation. Hence, moving towards renewable sources is better than running out of them. For instance, Scotland uses wind and solar power to produce electricity. On the other hand, others do not find renewable sources as trustworthy as the former ones. Energy is considered renewable when it is produced from a source that is constantly replenished by nature and all these energies come from two main natural sources. The sun which emits rays of light that can be transformed into electricity or heat, causes a low and high temperature and these energies emit only small quantities of pollutants and greenhouse gases. Accordingly, capturing renewable sources require expensive machines and it is intermittent too. It will add to the unemployment as they are mechanical, rather than conventional methods where humans are recruited for the same. In a nutshell, we should limit the usage of fossil fuels to protect our planet and providing an inheritance to future generations and should discover how to utilize natural resources to the optimal capacity.