During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

In this day and age, youngsters are less interested in doing outdoor activities, such as swimming, cycling, hiking, to name but a few during their weekends or vacation moment. This tendency is increasing day by day down to the severe addiction towards social networking sites and indoor games. However, such a type of menacing inclination can be tackled by letting them know that without outdoor sports or physical exercises it is next to impossible to lead a salubrious life. One of the cogent reasons for spending less time on outdoor activities is that nowadays, juveniles like to spend their free time with online friends through different social networking platforms, viz Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and suchlike. Researchers around the world have found that staying online and browsing the internet are considered as an addiction like smoking, leaving adolescents no time to take up a new hobby. Apart from that, young people, these days like to play indoor sports via PlayStation, Xbox and things like because of having the opportunity to connect with players, staying with other parts of the world, and earn money from online games. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 90% of students now do not find interest in outdoor sports in that they can earn money from competitive online games. Therefore, social networking sites and some indoor games are responsible for not trying outdoor activities. This appalling tendency can be improved if parents and teachers make youngsters understand that their habits of staying at home and not trying outdoor activities will bring many negative repercussions to their lives. In other words, if it would be possible to give real-life examples of some people who deteriorate their health only because of not doing physical activity, juveniles would be motivated to maintain their fitness. To exemplify, in China, school teachers always demonstrate advice of sick students who were responsible for their illness. Hence, explaining the benefits of outdoor activities with examples would surely exhort adolescents to try outdoor sports. In conclusion, whereas social networking sites and indoor games deter children to go out, parents and guardians should make them understand the benefits of outdoor activities.