In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

Unemployment has become one of the major problems in modern society. In fact, a plethora of well-qualified alumni is struggling to find a job. This essay suggests the lack of practical experience among graduates as a possible cause of this trend while proposing internships and apprenticeship programs as a potential solution. Currently, educational institutions are mainly focusing on providing theoretical knowledge rather than practical. However, the vast majority of employers require work experience from job candidates, which deprives highly educated students of an opportunity to be employed by them. Recent studies show, that potential employees with more experience in the field are highly valued in comparison to applicants with a graduate-level diploma. Hence, higher education institutions should devote an equal amount of attention to the theoretical as well as practical preparation of their pupils. Universities could include internship or apprenticeship programs as a mandatory part of the syllabus. Educational institutions might work in a partnership with leading organisations in the industry and offer a traineeship course at these companies for their students. In other words, providing undergraduates with a possibility to gain working practice while completing their studies. This results in individuals learning to apply theoretical knowledge into day-to-day working situations, which in turn makes them more eligible for future employers. Moreover, research shows that universities that have implemented internships as a part of a curriculum have considerably increased the percentage of employed graduates. Thus, proving that offering practical knowledge is as crucial as academic. To conclude, unemployment is undoubtedly one of the main issues in the modern-day. The number of graduates without a job is constantly increasing. That is caused by universities concentrating on offering their students with academic resources and not practical. The university studies combined with mandatory internships might lead to a rise in the number of employed graduates.