young people who commit crimes should be punished in the same way as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some section of the society think that authority should uniform the punishment regardless of their gages, while the others shed that the society should consider the teenagers’ particular situation, such as not as mature as the adults. Personally speaking, I agree with the former opinion. Some argue that it is advantageous for the government to apply a uniform punishment for offenders regardless of their age group [3] because such uniformity builds up a strong legal code by serving as a deterrence that ensures the consequences of committing crimes is known to the public. Each member of the society would have no doubt that there is a zero-tolerance policy implemented (in place) towards the lawbreakers; through this, law-abiding citizens would build up confidence towards the safety and security within the community as a whole. All of the things mentioned above should be the ultimate goal of setting up a legal code, and thus this kind of zero-tolerance policy serves this purpose very well. Others maintain that there should be other ways to punish juvenile delinquents because issuing a less severe punishment serves as a good way for them to reflect on what they have done and make a change. In order to fulfil the real purpose of punishment, which is to rehabilitate them and reshape them into functional members of society, the appropriacy of the punishment must be considered, meaning that the punishment can neither be too severe nor too lenient. Suppose that the punishment is severe to the point where the young criminal suffers from a mental breakdown, our purpose of rehabilitating them and trying to make them good members of the society is defeated. By contrast, if there is much leniency for them and may develop the kind of thinking where they think they can get away with anything just because they’re young. Therefore, it‘s imperative that we find the perfect balance between leniency and zero-tolerance. In conclusion, as the reason above that I think uniformity in crime punishment is good for the whole society in an efficiency way because the leniency may breed the more crime and danger.