Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

As the methods humans employ to prepare food become increasingly diverse, a debate emerges as to whether food science should be incorporated into school curriculums. While some people support this development, others consider it a waste of time that could be spent on other subjects. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and argue that as nourishment is an essential aspect of life, young children will benefit immensely from studying nutrition. The fulcrum of the argument that food science should be left out of syllabuses is the assumption that it is not necessary for young people. Firstly, most students do not prepare their own food: they either eat meals cooked by their families or purchase them from restaurants and cafeterias. In respect to restaurants, there are also numerous options for those who prefer to eat healthy, which include and are not limited to vegan menus offered by fast- food companies like Burger King, or acai bowls and smoothies from dessert eateries. The second reason why learning about food appears to be trivial is the fact that chronic diseases resulting from unhealthy eating habits often manifest in middle age, since harmful substances need to accumulate before being capable to cause ailments. Because of this, it is much more frequent to find patients with obesity, high blood pressure and other diet-related conditions in older age groups. Subsequently, with the impression that children and young adults are unaffected by their diets, educators usually neglect the science of food and its preparation when the curriculum is concerned. Nonetheless, it is crucial to study nutrition if food is to be used optimally. It has been shown that food needs to be consumed in certain ways to function at its best in the human body. For instance, many spiritual gurus as well as movements encouraging healthier diets, such as the Satvic movement from India, suggests that we increase the number of fruits we eat and avoid consuming canned or bottled food, since the former is easily digested but the latter is not. Furthermore, some ingredients have powerful medicinal effects, which makes both excessive and inadequate absorption harmful for the body. A good example would be honey. According to Sadhguru, a proficient teacher of spirituality and lifestyle, if honey is mixed with warm water, it energizes the body and enhances the mind’s capability due to its similarity to the human blood. However, if drunk with cold water, it is nothing more than extra calories on the system. Therefore, being given the intricacy of the interaction between nourishment and the human body, it is essential for students to understand the science behind food at a young age to maintain physical and mental health. In conclusion, although some people might prefer students to focus on “important” subjects instead of learning about the function and preparation of food, it has been proven that such exploration is mandatory for a healthy, balanced life. Thus, I am strong of the opinion that students should be educated about the what and the how when it comes to food as early on in the curriculum as possible.