Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that the government should take responsibility for protecting the environment instead of a person doing it. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this view since I believe that to solve environmental problems, politicians and individuals should join hands. First of all, I hold a firm belief that protecting the environment is the national leaders’ duty. The first reason is that tackling environmental issues can ensure citizens have better living standards. For instance, if polluted problems like air contamination are solved, it will reduce the risks of respiratory diseases in the population. Additionally, environmental issues are happening worldwide at an alarming rate, so it requires the involvement of political leaders in many nations. In particular, some global issues such as global warming and climate change have been solved by the cooperation of the leaders of many countries. Secondly, I also argue that people also need to participate in environmental protection. The reason why people should get involved in this action is because every time people put the waste in the right place or recycle used plastic, they can make significant contributions to saving the environment. In other words, small things that people do on a regular basis can make huge changes for mitigating environmental issues. Besides, people are the main causes of many environmental problems such as air pollution or water contamination, so we need to be responsible for what we have done. Without the awareness of individual citizens to address these issues, the survival of human beings can be threatened in the long run. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with this statement because protecting the environment is not only the responsibility of politicians but also every individual. If people make concerted efforts, we can gain sustainable development.