The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life. To what extent do you agree?

The traditional belief of being a jack of all trades and a master of none is no longer in fashion. People nowadays tend to follow a reverse approach of adapting multiple careers along with upgrading their academic skills to expand their horizons. This essay will talk about why it is important for working professionals to explore diverse career options and continue to grow their skill sets throughout their life. Having one single job throughout their life is no longer a trend. In the olden days people used to loyal to a single organization and would serve the same career path throughout their life until retirement. Many employers are of the belief that candidates having experience in more than one skill set help an organization to think diversely and grow holistically. Research has shown that people who have worked in more than one organization or have diverse job roles, are more competent, are better decision makers and successful professionally. Furthermore, working professionals are very keen on growing their skill sets to explore opportunities in other work areas to excel in their career path. The main reason for this is the growing technology along with the urge of staying hand-in-hand with the industry competition. Another main reason for continuously leaning new job skills either related to one ’s career or new ones is having additional funds to one ’s account. More the skills one possesses, higher are the chances of being chosen by an employer at the same time higher you get paid. For instance, if a company hires a project manager, they will prefer an individual having knowledge of coding, marketing as well as creative design, as opposed to someone who has just have technical knowledge and will, eventually, be paid a higher salary. To conclude, I am of the opinion that having multiple career paths is beneficial in professional as well as personal growth of an individual. At the same time, keeping oneself upgraded in terms of skill sets, can add a boost in one ’s professional growth.