In some counties younger people are increasingly losing interest in teaching. Why is this happening? What can be done to improve the situation? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

In many countries, younger individuals are showing low interest in pursuing a career in the teaching profession. This is happening because of several reasons ranging from low remuneration to heavy workload. This situation can be altered by offering better financial benefits and reducing their burden of work. To begin with, teaching has been a notable profession for a long. Regardless of this, due to the low salary structure of teachers compared to other professions, many young persons are abandoning this career option. Additionally, they are not only overloaded with their teaching work but also have to manage other non-teaching assignments. For example, in India, at the time of elections or census, teachers are required to engage in data collection activities for the state government. Because of this, teachers end up working more than their pre-determined working hours. It is possible to alter the situation by adopting some measures. Firstly, the government should increase the basic pay for teaching professionals which can motivate and attract many young populations to make a career in this. Secondly, the unnecessary work pressure should be reduced so that they can focus on their core activity and manage their work within the timeframe. Furthermore, the use of the latest technology in teaching should be encouraged which will help to minimize their substantial work and this will also help to attract young citizens. To conclude, education plays a crucial role in the development of the country. It is possible to make the teaching field more interesting to younger people by absolving teachers from inessential work and raising their pay standards.