Some people believe that time spent on television and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a contentious argument over the effect of watching TV and playing computer games on children. This essay examines both points of view and my perspective, being that these activities can be beneficial if the time spent is in moderation. Some hold a firm belief that watching television and playing games on computers have various benefits. Firstly, these sources of entertainment can enhance brain development. By interacting with the world through those technologies, either real or artificial, their brains’ functions including spatial-visual reasoning can be boosted subconsciously. Furthermore, after a heavy workload of studying, students should find a stress reliever to provide an escape from information overload, therefore, those kinds of entertainment can be extremely suitable for these situations. However, others raise voices of disapproval by stating that those leisure activities can have a negative influence on their children. This is because of the excessive amount of time spent on playing video games, which eventually leads to addiction. Nowadays the advancement of these sources of vast media has been to the extent that once young and impressional people take part in, they will grow an instant interest, henceforth, it is hard to stop to do other work such as dealing with homework or reviewing the lessons. To illustrate, a single episode of a popular drama film tends to last 1 hour, let alone a whole season; whereas, in contrast, students only have few hours to both relax and prepare for the next school day. To conclude, both sides have their own merits. However, from my,perspective I am inclined to the opinion that playing computer games and watching TV has great advantages for the youngsters as long as time is spent moderately.